Honey Recipe: Bee’s Knees Cocktail

One of my customers at last week’s farmer’s market suggested that this week I post a cocktail for my Friday recipe. This worked out well, since I’ve been out of town on work most of this week… and Lord knows I could use a drink!

Originally designed to cover up the taste of bathtub gin in the roaring 20’s during prohibition, this cocktail has a refreshing flavor that’s perfect for a hot summer night.

Original recipe on Saveur website.

For the honey syrup:

  • 3 parts honey
  • 1 parts hot water

For the cocktail:

  • 1 Part fresh lemon juice (I used concentrate and you could tell it would have been better with fresh)
  • 1 Part honey syrup
  • 2 Parts gin (I haven’t had gin in a very long time and I was delightfully surprised at the aromatic flavor of it. If you haven’t tried gin or if it’s been a while, give it a try — you might be surprised.)

Instructions

  1. Make the honey syrup: In a container, combine honey and hot water and stir until completely mixed. Use immediately or store and refrigerate for up to 5 days. (While honey can last pretty much forever, once it has water mixed into it, it will ferment… e.g. make mead aka Honey wine.)
  2. In a shaker, combine fresh lemon juice, honey syrup, gin, and ice.
  3. Shake vigorously and strain into a glass. The original recipe called for a 6-oz coupe glass but I think a tumbler or or stemless wine glass might be more fashionable – better yet, use a Long Island Ice Tea glass and double the portion.

6 Comments Add yours

  1. I love the sound of this and can’t wait to give it a go – quite like gin!! Have a fabby weekend and thank you for sharing!!
    Donna 🧚🏻‍♀️❤️🙏
    https://donnadoesdresses.com

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Bryan Layton says:

      Thanks for reading. By the way, I noticed a few Steampunk pics on your sites. I’m a total Steampunk myself. I’ve been writing a Steampunk novel about a time traveling demon hunter for the past 5 years (well when I have time to write anything).

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh really?! Yesss!!! I am so into steampunk!! I’m also a big fan of science fiction and robots .. love the notion of time travel and hunting demons!! I’ve been reading up on quantum physics where it talks about the space/time continuum … I’ve probably gone too far!! It’s great talking to someone of like mind!! Enjoy the rest of your week!! Have the beekeeping club meeting tonight and I’m so desperate to get started like you guys are doing!! Donna 🧚‍♀️❤️🙏🏼

        Liked by 1 person

  2. CarolCooks2 says:

    Honey and gin…It would be rude not too…Thank you for sharing 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Bryan Layton says:

      … and we must never be rude! LOL Thanks for reading.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. CarolCooks2 says:

        You are welcome, Bryan and I will be trying it as well once I get some more honey…

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment